Cyriel Dessers Finally Gets Eagles Call as Rohr Names 24 for S/Leone

Cyriel Dessers Finally Gets Eagles Call as Rohr Names 24 for S/Leone

Nigerian striker Heracles Almelo forward player, Cyriel Dessers, was among the 24 players called up by Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr, ahead of the 2021 African Nations Cup tie against two Sierra Leone stars.

The 25-year-old of a Nigerian father and Belgian mother has been in superlative form recently and has caught the attention of the Nigerian media. Cyriel Dessers himself, in a recent interview, believes that playing for Nigeria will increase his football career, noting that the invitation to any national team does not come on a platter and should be celebrated when it does.

His inclusion in the list of 24 men released by Rohr on Wednesday will undoubtedly lead the young man to cloud nine.

Read Also:  EPL Suspended Over Coronavirus Pandemic

The interesting thing about the list is the return of Kelechi Iheanacho, whose rejuvenation has also recently been observed by the technical team and the fans.

Also interesting to note is the inclusion of German defender Kingsley Ehizibue, who plays for FC Koln and will make his first appearance in the Super Eagles.

Daniel Akpeyi was not lacking in the usual game, after having presented an excellent performance to the Kaizer’s South African bosses at the Soweto Derby against Orlando Pirates.

Read Also:  Victor Moses Flees Italy After Observing 14-Days Quarantine

The game that attracted a lot of participation at the FNB Stadium made many agree that the Nigerian international was really good after making breathtaking saves to keep the pirates away from the Chiefs, fleeing with Chiefs left with a single goal victory to consolidate the scoreboard.

Below is the full list of the Eagles’ 24-player list, as described by German tactician Gernot Rohr;

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany.

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan Athletic, England); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England).

Read Also:  Anthony Joshua Confirms Heavyweight Title Fight In June

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland).

Attackers: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Cyril Dessers (Heracles Almelo, Netherlands); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here