Full list of Universities in Nigeria and Year Founded

9jatoday brings you a full list of the universities in Nigeria starting from the federal universities across the country, the state, and private universities, and the year founded according to the National Universities Commission (NUC).


1Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi 1988
2Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 1962
3Bayero University,Kano 1975
4Federal University Gashua 2013
5Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun 2007
6Federal University of Technology, Akure 1981
7Federal University of Technology, Minna. 1982
8Federal University of Technology, Owerri 1980
9Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State 2011
10Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina 2011
11Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State 2011
12Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State 2011
13Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State 2011
14Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State 2011
15Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa 2011
16Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State 2011
17Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State 2011
18Federal University,Birnin Kebbi. 2013
19Federal University,Gusau. 2013
20Michael Okpara Uni. of Agric., Umudike 1992
21Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola 1988
22National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos. 2002
23Nigeria Police Academy Wudil 2012
24Nigerian Defence Academy,Kaduna 1985
25Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka 1992
26Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife 1962
27University of Abuja, Gwagwalada 1988
28University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. 1988
29University of Agriculture, Makurdi. 1988
30University of Benin 1970
31University of Calabar 1975
32University of Ibadan 1948
33University of Ilorin 1975
34University of Jos 1975
35University of Lagos 1962
36University of Maiduguri 1975
37University of Nigeria, Nsukka 1960
38University of Port-Harcourt 1975
39University of Uyo 1991
40Usumanu Danfodiyo University 1975

 Read Also: How to Successfully Combine Study And Work

Read Also:  Adamawa 'Varsity Sacks Two Lecturers Over Sexual Assault


1Abia State University, Uturu.  1980
2Adamawa State University Mubi  2002
3Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba.  1999
4Akwa Ibom State University of Technology, Uyo  2004
5Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma,  1980
6Anambra State University of Science & Technology, Uli  2000
7Bauchi State University, Gadau  2011
8Benue State University, Makurdi.  1992
9Bukar Abba Ibrahim University, Damaturu.  2006
10Cross River State University of Science &Technology, Calabar  2004
11Delta State University Abraka  1992
12Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki  2000
13Ekiti State University  1988
14Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu  1981
15Gombe State Univeristy, Gombe  2004
16Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University, Lapai  2005
17Ignatius Ajuru University of Education,Rumuolumeni.  2010
18Imo State University, Owerri  1992
19Jigawa State University  2013
20Kaduna State University, Kaduna  2004
21Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil  2000
22Kebbi State University, Kebbi  2006
23Kogi State University Anyigba  1999
24Kwara State University, Ilorin  2009
25Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso  1990
26Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa  2008
27River State University of Science and Technology  1979
28Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye  1982
29Lagos State University Ojo  1983
30Niger Delta University Yenagoa  2000
31Nasarawa State University Keffi  2002
32Plateau University Bokkos  2005
33Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu Ode  2005
34Umar Musa Yar’ Adua University Katsina  2006
35Osun State University Osogbo  2006
36Taraba State University, Jalingo  2008
37Sokoto State University  2009
38Northwest University Kano  2012
39The Technical University, Ibadan  2012
40Sule Lamido University, Kafin Hausas  2013

Read Also: NYSC: Business Ideas For Youth Corpers

Read Also:  Most Religious Countries In The World


1Achievers University, Owo  2007
2Adeleke University,Ede.  2011
3Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti State  2009
4African University of Science & Technology, Abuja  2007
5Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan  2005
6Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin  2005
7Al-Qalam University, Katsina  2005
8American University of Nigeria, Yola  2003
9Augustine University  2015
10Babcock University,Ilishan-Remo  1999
11Baze University  2011
12Bells University of Technology, Otta  2005
13Benson Idahosa University,Benin City  2002
14Bingham University, New Karu  2005
15Bowen University, Iwo  2001
16Caleb University, Lagos  2007
17Caritas University, Enugu  2005
18CETEP City University, Lagos  2005
19Chrisland University  2015
20Christopher University  2015
21Covenant University Ota  2002
22Crawford University Igbesa  2005
23Crescent University,  2005
24Edwin Clark University, Kaigbodo  2015
25Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin  2012
26Evangel University, Akaeze  2012
27Fountain Unveristy,Oshogbo  2007
28Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike – Enugu State  2009
29Gregory University, Uturu  2012
30Hallmark University  2015
31Hezekiah University, Umudi  2015
32Igbinedion University Okada  1999
33Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji  2006
34Kings University  2015
35Kwararafa University, Wukari  2005
36Landmark University,Omu-Aran.  2011
37Lead City University, Ibadan  2005
38Madonna University, Okija  1999
39Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo  2012
40Micheal & Cecilia University  2015
41Mountain Top University  2015
42Nigerian-Turkish Nile University, Abuja  2009
43Novena University, Ogume  2005
44Obong University, Obong Ntak  2007
45Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu – Osun State  2009
46Pan-African University, Lagos  2002
47Paul University, Awka – Anambra State  2009
48Redeemer’s University, Mowe  2005
49Renaissance University,Enugu  2005
50Rhema University, Obeama-Asa – Rivers State  2009
51Ritman University  2015
52Salem University,Lokoja  2007
53Samuel Adegboyega University,Ogwa.  2011
54Southwestern University, Oku Owa  2012
55Summit University  2015
56Tansian University,Umunya  2007
57University of Mkar, Mkar  2005
58Veritas University  2007
59Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State  2009
60Wesley Univ. of Science & Tech.,Ondo  2007
61Western Delta University, Oghara  2007.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here