Yoruba States In Nigeria

The major Yoruba states in Nigeria are six in number and they are located in the south-western geopolitical zone in Nigeria. Yoruba is one of the major tribes in Nigeria and the people that belong to this ethnic group are numerous in number and as such, they span across different states in the country. This article centers on explaining the different Yoruba states in Nigeria.

The Yoruba people have been in existence as far back as the 7th century. They weren’t known as Yoruba until the 8th century. Ile-Ife is known as the earliest kingdom in Africa. 

The Yoruba land spans Nigeria, Togo and Benin. But, the highest population of the Yorubas are found in Nigeria. In Nigeria, the South-western geopolitical zone consists of the Yoruba speaking people. 

Yoruba States in the South-western geopolitical zone include:

  • Oyo State
  • Ogun State
  • Osun State
  • Lagos State
  • Ondo State
  • Ekiti State

The Yoruba land also includes Kwara state but not every inhabitant of Kwara state are Yoruba. Also, in Kogi and Edo, there are a number of people that speak Yoruba in these two states and their settlements are well known to everyone. See also:250+ Names of God in Yoruba Language and their Meaning

List of All Yoruba States in Nigeria

The following include the Yoruba speaking states present in Nigeria. 

Oyo State:

Oyo state is a popular and well known Yoruba speaking state. Its slogan is Pace Setter State. Oyo state is known for a lot of achievements and one of such is the first Premier University; University of Ibadan situated in Ibadan. Apart from this, the first skyscraper; Cocoa House, is also built in Oyo state. 

Also, this state also houses the Ado Awaye Suspended lake, Old Oyo National Park and other Tourist centers. The main occupation of Oyo state is Agriculture. The state also has 33 local government provinces.

Ogun State:

Ogun State is described as the Gateway state and it is the most industrialized state in Nigeria. So many industries are located in this state within the 2km government acquisition area of the Lagos-Sagamu Expressway. Apart from being an industrial zone, it also has many religious headquarters as well as many tertiary Institutions. 

The state shares a border with Lagos state and has 20 Local Government areas. The Capital of Ogun is Abeokuta.

Lagos State:

Lagos state is described as the center of excellence and it stands out economically. It is the most economically important state in the country. Lagos is the second most industrial state in the country after Ogun State. Lagos is the commercial hub of Nigeria and it is said to be the hustling zone of Nigeria. 

Lagis is termed the most populous state after Kano despite its size and size. Economic wise, Lagos has the largest economy in Nigeria. Also, Lagos is described as “No Man’s Land” due to its vibrant economy. So many people from various ethnic groups are found in Lagos. It has 20 Local Government Areas. See this:The Wealthiest Yoruba Man In Nigeria & Net Worth

Osun State:

Osun State is known as the Land of Virtue. It is a Yoruba speaking state that houses the prestigious Obafemi Awolowo University. The state houses Ile-Ife which is an important Yoruba Cultural location.

Also, history made us know that Ieun State is the birthplace of the Yoruba race and it’s where civilization emerges from. Their ancestor Oduduwa was the first Ooni of Ife. The state’s capital is situated at Osogbo. 

Ekiti State:

Ekiti state is described as the Land of honor. It is located at the Western Highland otherwise known as the Yoruba Highland. Ekiti has the highest number of professors in Nigeria. Also, it prides itself as the state with many pioneer academics. Read also: Yoruba Greetings: How To Say Hello in Yoruba

Ondo State: 

Ondo State is known as Sunshine state. It is an oil producing state in the South-western region. The state is much talked about owning to the popular tourist hub known as Idanre hills. 

Also, Ondo State is known for producing cocoa as well as timber in Nigeria. The state has 18 Local Government Areas and it’s dominated by the Ijaws and the Yorubas.